Photo by Scott Serio/Eclipse Sportswire/Breeders Cup


The Bill Shoemaker Award is named in honor of one of the greatest jockeys in the history of Thoroughbred racing.  Shoemaker, a winner of the Kentucky Derby four times, won more than 8,800 races in a career that spanned more than 40 years. In 1987, at 56, Shoemaker won the Breeders’ Cup Classic aboard Ferdinand.


2017Javier Castellano
2016Mike Smith
2015Ryan Moore
2014John Velazquez
2013Mike Smith
2012Mike Smith
2011John Velazquez
2010Garrett Gomez
2009Julien Leparoux
2008Garrett Gomez
2007Garrett Gomez
2006Frankie Dettori
2005Garrett Gomez
2004John Velazquez
2003Alex Solis