Daily Herald


The Best Jockey ESPY Award, known alternatively as the Jockey of the Year ESPY Award, has been presented annually since 1994 to the thoroughbred horse racing jockey, irrespective of nationality or gender, adjudged to be the best of those riding in the United States in a given calendar year.

Between 1994 and 2004, the award voting panel comprised variously fans; sportswriters and broadcasters, sports executives, and retired sportspersons, termed collectively experts; and ESPN personalities, but balloting thereafter has been exclusively by fans over the Internet from amongst choices selected by the ESPN Select Nominating Committee.

Through the 2001 iteration of the ESPY Awards, ceremonies were conducted in February of each year to honor achievements over the previous calendar year; awards presented thereafter are conferred in June and reflect performance from the June previous.


2017John Velazquez
2016Mario Gutierrez
2015Victor Espinoza
2014Victor Espinoza
2013Joel Rosario
2012Mario Gutierrez
2011John Velazquez
2010Calvin Borel
2009Calvin Borel
2008Kent Desormeaux
2007Calvin Borel
2006Edgar Prado
2005Jeremy Rose
2004Stewart Elliott
2003JosŽ Santos
2002Victor Espinoza
2001Kent Desormeaux
2000Chris Antley
1999Kent Desormeaux
1998Gary Stevens
1997Jerry Bailey
1996Jerry Bailey
1995Chris McCarron
1994Mike Smith