Benoit Photo

The George Woolf Memorial Jockey Award has been presented by Santa Anita Park in Arcadia, California, annually since 1950 to the thoroughbred horse racing jockey in North America who demonstrates high standards of personal and professional conduct, on and off the racetrack.

The award was created through donations from the racing public after the death of Hall of Fame jockey George Woolf. The one-time-only award is voted on by members of the Jockeys’ Guild who chose from among their peers nominated by Guild regional managers. The trophy that goes along with the award is a one-foot-high replica of the life-size statue of George Woolf that, along with a bronze sculpture of his favorite mount, Seabiscuit, has a place of honor in the Santa Anita Paddock Gardens.


2018Jose Ferrer
2017Stewart Elliott
2016Victor Espinoza
2015Mike Luzzi
2014Corey Lanerie
2013Mario Pino
2012Ramon Dominguez
2011Garrett Gomez
2010Calvin Borel
2009John Velazquez
2008Richard Migliore
2007Jon Court
2006Mark Guidry
2005Ray Sibille
2004Robby Albarado
2003Edgar Prado
2002Russell Baze
2001Dean Kutz
2000Mike Smith
1999Jose Santos
1998Craig Perret
1997Alex Solis
1996Gary Stevens
1995Eddie Maple
1994Phil Grove
1993Kent Desormeaux
1992Jerry Bailey
1991Earlie Fires
1990John Lively
1989Larry Snyder
1988Don Brumfield
1987Don MacBeth
1986Jorge Velasquez
1985Pat Day
1984Steve Cauthen
1983Marco Castaneda
1982Pat Valenzuela
1981Eddie Delahoussaye
1980Chris McCarron
1979Ron Turcotte
1978Darrel McHargue
1977Frank Olivares
1976Sandy Hawley
1975Fernando Toro
1974Alvaro Pineda
1973John Rotz
1972Angel Cordero, Jr.
1971Jerry Lambert
1970Laffit Pincay, Jr.
1969Johnny Sellers
1968Braulio Baeza
1967Donald Pierce
1966Alex Maese
1965Walter Blum
1964Manuel Ycaza
1963Ismael Valenzuela
1962Steve Brooks
1961Peter Moreno
1960William Harmatz
1959William Boland
1958Merlin Volzke
1957Ted Atkinson
1956John Adams
1955Raymond York
1954Ralph Neves
1953Eddie Arcaro
1952Johnny Longden
1951Bill Shoemaker
1950Gordon Glisson