Eric Kalet

Mike Venezia Memorial Award is an American Thoroughbred horse racing honor given annually by the New York Racing Association to honor a jockeys who exemplifies extraordinary sportsmanship and citizenship. The award was created in 1989 to honor the memory of jockey Mike Venezia, who was killed in a racing accident in October, 1988 at Belmont Park.


The award is determined by voting from jockeys, turf writers and racing fans. The winner is announced in July of each year and at a ceremony held in the fall, each recipient receives a 13-inch bronze sculpture with a title that reads, “The Jockey, A Champion.”


2017Kendrick Carmouche
2016Mario Pino
2015Jon Court
2014John Velazquez
2013Ramon Dominguez
2012No Award Given
2011No Award Given
2010No Award Given
2009No Award Given
2008No Award Given
2007No Award Given
2006Edgar Prado
2005No Award Given
2004Patti Cooksey
2003Richard Migliore
2002Dean Kutz
2001Mike Luzzi
2000Jorge Chavez
1999Gary Stevens
1998Eddie Maple
1997Robbie Davis
1996Laffit Pincay, Jr
1995Pat Day
1994Mike Smith
1993Jerry Bailey
1992Angel Cordero, Jr.
1991Chris McCarron
1990Bill Shoemaker
1989Mike Venezia