Press Release

ARCADIA, Calif. (Nov. 5, 2016) — Mike Smith, who won three races and finished second in three others won the 14th Bill Shoemaker Award, given to the most outstanding jockey of the 2016 Breeders’ Cup World Championships at Santa Anita Park.

The Shoemaker Award is based on a 10-5-3-1 scoring system on first- through fourth-place finishes in each of the 13 Breeders’ Cup World Championship races.

Smith finished with 48 points to out distance Joel Rosario who had 28 points. Smith was the only rider to win more than one race.

Smith, who previously had won the Shoemaker Award at the 2012 and 2013 renewals, won Friday’s Las Vegas Breeders’ Cup Dirt Mile on Tamarkuz, Saturday’s Filly & Mare Sprint on Finest City and capped off the weekend with a victory in the Classic on Arrogate.

Smith also finished second in Friday’s Longines Distaff on Songbird and in the Juvenile Fillies Turf on Coasted with Saturday’s runner-up finish coming on Masochistic in the TwinSpires Breeders’ Cup Sprint. Smith finished third on American Gal in Saturday’s 14 Hands Winery Breeders’ Cup Juvenile Fillies.

The Shoemaker Award is named in honor of one of the greatest jockeys in the history of Thoroughbred racing. Shoemaker, who captured the Kentucky Derby four times, won more than 8,800 races in a career that spanned more than 40 years. In 1987, at age 56, Shoemaker won the Breeders’ Cup Classic aboard Ferdinand at Hollywood Park.

Bill Shoemaker Award winners

2003: Alex Solis
2004: John Velazquez
2005: Garrett Gomez
2006: Frankie Dettori
2007: Garrett Gomez
2008: Garrett Gomez
2009: Julien Leparoux
2010: Garrett Gomez
2011: John Velazquez
2012: Mike Smith
2013: Mike Smith
2014: John Velazquez
2015: Ryan Moore
2016: Mike Smith